The Canadian Urban Institute handed out its awards at a luncheon event at Ottawa's Westin Hotel on June 17. Leigh Thorpe and Louise Renauld-George attended with Jane's Walk Toronto organizer Denise Pinto.   The City Soul award recognizes achievements that inspire, inform, enrich, and engage the collective spirit, and that celebrate the authenticity of place.

Below are some photos from the event.  As well, there is a lovely video created by students at the School of Design at George Brown College to describe Jane's Walk.  Watch the video.  The full description of the 'City Soul' award criteria and the nomination description of Jane's Walk  can be found here.   You can find out more about the CUI here.

Of course, Jane's Walk happens only through the participation of all our volunteers and attendees: the walk leaders who put in time and effort to prepare and lead their walking tours, the marshals who keep the walks on track, our organizers over the years, our sponsors and partners who share their resources, and those who come out to see, hear, learn, discuss, and share. You are all recipients of this award. Thanks to everyone who has helped us build Jane's Walk Ottawa over the years.


Above left:   Denis Pinto, Louise Renauld-George, and Leigh Thorpe with Scott McElligott (second from left), VP and Regional Head at TD Bank Financial Group, who presented the award.   Above right:  Louise expressing thanks to CUI for the award to Jane's Walk.

The 2013 CUI Urban Leadership Award winners:  Gerry Flahive, (producer of the documentary Highrise, Global City and Innovation Award), Brian Smith (City Champion Award), Jacob Zorzella (Youth Award), John Tory (City Champion Award), Leigh Thorpe (Jane's Walk Ottawa), Bill Teron (Jane Jacobs Lifetime Achievement Award), Denise Pinto (Jane's Walk Toronto), Louise Renauld-George (Jane's Walk Ottawa),  and Sarah Pennisi & Mark Todd (both from the Niagara Prosperity Initiative, Prosperity and Renewal Award).

At the same event, Bill Teron, known locally as the 'Father of Kanata,' was presented with the Jane Jacobs Lifetime Achievement Award. The CUI press release giving background information and a list of Mr. Teron's accomplishments can be found here.

Bill Teron & Marianne Wilkinson (Ottawa city councillor from Kanata)