The route follows city sidewalks and paved paths. The buildings are accessible except for the former rectory.
Please note: This walk will be given in French. The guide is bilingual and will accept questions in both French and English.
Bounded by Rideau Street, King Edward Avenue, and the Rideau River, Lowertown East is one of the oldest districts of Ottawa and has always been strongly identified with its francophone population whose history is vibrant to this day. The tour will focus on heritage buildings, their architects, and their transformations through time. Despite a controversial 1970s urban re-development, Lowertown East remains a walkable neighbourhood.
Points of interest include the Convent of the Good Shepherd, the Chinese Embassy (1875), Caisse Populaire Ste-Anne / John Howard Society (1953), St. Anne's church / St. Clement parish (1873), St. Anne's parish hall (1874-1982), and St. Anne’s Rectory / National House of Prayer (1922).
Link to the French language description.
Hélène Beauchamp has come to be considered as the historian of francophone Lowertown East and of St. Anne Parish. Her family arrived in Bytown in the 1860s.